Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

I'm not bossy, I'm the Boss...

An absolute privilege today to be a speaker at the Scottish Parliament "Inspiring Young Women" event. With over 120 young women aged 15-16, it was convened by the Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick with the aim of inspiring and creating a space to talk about issues such as confidence, body image, sexism and leadership.

What a fabulous atmosphere - just electric, with so many amazing conversations. You could see lightbulb moments happening everywhere you looked!

I do love how our Scottish Parliament can be so open, and a catalyst for positive change. En route to one of the workshops we walked past this fabulous piece of art - my favourite piece. It features sentences written by women about each other cast in ceramic - each sentence linking to the next woman, almost like a chain letter. It's a thing of great beauty and seemed so appropriate for today.

I left the event feeling utterly inspired and full of hope about the next generation of amazing young women - and with Beyoncé's famous quote in my head!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.