Prespective

This is one of those shots I love looking at when I see them shot by others but never really tried myself... until now. Mimi thought this looked like a weird genus of fungi and the more I looked the more I saw what she saw. It is in fact an holding down bolt that secured pier piling on the deck of an old derelict pier. 

I loved the way the bolt, long since exposed to the elements, had corroded, the shaft deteriorating and flaking to create and almost organic fungi type shapes.  I loved how the rust had bled onto the deck of the pier staining the concrete and giving the appearance  of soil for Mimi's mushroom to flourish. Maybe it is just me, maybe people just see a rusty old bolt but to me there is a beauty and a sadness in this bolt which in this perspective fills the frame but in reality is only about 5 inches high

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.