But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Back of a Number 49 Bus.

This blip is being posted five weeks late due to other commitments; please accept my apologies, there are two more back blips to come.

The car needed further treatment following its M.O.T. the other week. As before, having it dropped off I started to cycle home along the route of the number 49 bus, I wasn't after any old 49, it needed to be this particular one. Half way through town, I spotted it going the opposite way and so turned around and gave chase. The traffic was quite heavy so it was a while before I caught it at a stop and rattled off a few shots before it moved on. Some of you will be aware of my obsession with Wojtek, the only bear ever to enlist in the Polish army; although his heroism at the siege of Montecassino would have won any other soldier a medal, his only rewards were probably a wrestling match with his friends and an extra helping of bully beef.

A few minutes later, a white van man drove fast at me from behind with his horn blaring in a dangerous and blatant act of aggression. At the next traffic lights, I caught up and photographed his number plate, I did think of using that for today's blip but Wojtek won that fight hands down. Dangerous drivers obviously don't like photographic evidence and two men got out of the van and accosted me in a very threatening manner and with the apparent intent of destroying my camera but, fortunately, a passing cyclist had seen the incident and also produced a camera and started filming. Fortunately, this was sufficient to calm them down before I had my lights punched out and they disappeared like the Scotch mist; my next visit was to the local police station. There being no policemen there today, they arranged an interview with me for Wednesday.
The day had started off so well too.

If you ever see a white Volkswagon Crafter van, registration number: SH58YGD, please feel free to go round its tyres with a very sharp instrument.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.