Footprint

By littleblips

Monster Huntsman

This is not the photo I want to put up. I don't want to see this thing again! But since it dominated a good half hour of my afternoon, and had me shuddering for a good while after that with the memory, I guess it deserves the space. I have plenty of experience chasing and/or killing spiders, but this one was memorable. It had a body about 3 inches in length, a face I could look into from across the room, and the total diameter of a grapefruit. I have shared spaces with huntsmen before but I have a 9mth old crawling around the floor so that wasn't going to happen. Poked at it with the vacuum cleaner and it lifted a leg, swatted at the tube as if 'What the hell is this?' It stuck to the wall despite the force. Third time lucky. Took the machine outside and left the motor going for five minutes then carefully sorted through all the parts to find the body. Thank God! It's dead.
These are almost completely harmless creatures... but still the stuff of nightmares!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.