High Up On the Ox Drove

Light is Dancing

Shadows Echo

Clouds  accumulate

 

Blotting-paper absorbent

The sky is King up Here

as High over the Ancient Ox-Drove it transcends

 

Birds of prey wheel and arc, way up above

a lone tractor crawls, seeming so very small

A mere dot, hardly moving, shaping this precious landscape.

 

The weather changes

A splice of sun, then hail and then some sharp rain.

The January chill makes one hurry on.


Walk from Alvediston to Bowerchalke

Steep climb up onto the ancient drove and along for six or seven miles. Deer, distant views, squally weather and big muddy puddles.

Lens is Sigma EX 24-70mm f2.8, on full-frame D700

On the morning of January 30th, I found my broadband, phone and digital TV completely cut off, by Virgin Media. My anger and annoyance set me up for this walk. It has taken nearly two months to change provider, now BT. (Set up only a few minutes ago!)Virgin even locked me out of my email account, so I could not receive mail and even locked me out of all internet sites that I signed in with using that email address. That is why I was not able to access, comment or respond to, as I have only just found out, your wishes and concerns. All I can say is a true heartfelt thanks and I rather sheepishly just wish to continue as before. I have missed Blip and its lovely contributors terribly and enormously. Long may Blip continue. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.