Irridescent Ella

We have had our ladies for some years now but today was the first time that I got close to capturing the wonderful iridescence of our Black Rocks' plumage. This is Ella (Fitzgerald), shimmering with peacock shades in today's spring-like sunshine. I am too wary to call this the arrival of Spring yet but it has certainly been a stunningly beautiful morning. The chooks seem to think so anyway and are digging holes everywhere and basking in the sun. The sooner they go in and lay, the better!

Ella is filling in - today's shot was supposed to be of the seabirds feasting on the field, recently spread with slurry. My stalking skills, even with a 200mm lens, are not up to the task. Perhaps tomorrow, though I have calls on my time then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.