Reflections and Memories

A triptych of windows on the ground level of my first alma mater on Bruntsfield Links. The building is an imposing edifice commanding views north over to the castle, but has been replaced as a school and now functions as yet another student residence.
The present school is now housed in a faceless block of a building a few hundred yards away and lacking the grandeur of the old school.

As I pass, I can still recall my first days there as a 5 year old standing in the small playground complete with new school bag smelling of leather, shining my rosy red apple for break time on my blazer. It would be eaten while drinking the ubiquitous bottle of milk given to us with caps we would puncture with our pencils to make a hole for a straw.

Happy Days.......at least in retrospect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.