Grandaddy Shinjuku

Kenmochi Hidefumi - Leopardo

It was a FULL day in Tokyo. I sat in a café overlooking the streets of Shinjuku, and for several hours I watched the waves of people covering the streets bathed in Spring sunlight. Tourists, locals and the oddities rolled through like waves on the beach and all I could think of was the fortunate coincidence of being here and having been here now and many years ago. I don't know why, I've tried so hard to understand it, but I truly love this city and everything it has become.

I just relaxed and followed my heart going to places where I wanted to go. No rules, no advice and no control but only how I felt. I spent 4 hours at Shinjuku Tower Records and even though I can go anywhere else to listen to music, I knew I had to be here and the music I listened to filled my heart with such energy that it became overwhelming. The image of beautiful clockwork and machinery manifested into the organic networks of the city helped me to feel even more deeply into my blind obsession.

Some music that I listened to was Charlie Wilson's Somebody Loves You, Perfume's Clockwork, Mystery Skulls' Magic. It was simply brilliant for me. I stayed until I felt it was time to return to Nagoya. The journey home was now enriched with spiritual reinvigoration. I have nothing to fear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.