The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Muggs?

When I see an Airedale I am put in mind of James Thurber's story of Muggs The Dog that Bit People.  The Airedale in the photo was a much friendlier chap who came to introduce himself to Gus, and was more cooperative than Gus in providing foreground interest.

This is my favourite corner of the promenade by Ashmeadow again.  And these are the sort of unusual lighting conditions that I can't resist, the sun falling through one bank of cloud into a narrow gap before disappearing quickly again.  The haze that had been building over the preceding windless days obscures the other side of the estuary.

Well, that wasn't a long gap was it?  In fact this is a backblip from last Friday.  Many people left considerate and encouraging words on Thursday's signing-off-for-a-while blip.

I've reflected on the changes in Blipworld now that its founder and his Team are no longer part of the site, and we are all due to become corporate assets of some remote faceless company.

The spirit of the site that Joe created clearly lives on in the community here.  I would miss that community if I was no longer part of it, and Thursday's comments affirmed that.

One of the reasons we were all concerned by the silence after 3rd March was the possibility of losing our journal entries.  That includes the ability to continue building a journal of the mundane and special moments day by day, and the pleasure one day in looking back over those entries.

These last few days I have really missed sharing photographs here, and missed the exchange of comments with other blippers about what we saw and did that day.

So I have decided I shall carry on blipping and see what happens.  I shall be erratic this next week as I have a big work deadline and a trip to the south to see my Dad for a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.