Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

The Fire Behind it All

Dear Diary,

A glorious sunrise this morning and we are hoping for temps near 50F today.  This image seemed so poignant to me...the blazing sun deep behind the stark and dormant trees.  It is waiting to ascend and bring much needed warmth to the land.

As a contemplative photographer I covet these sorts of images.  Photographs that have a deeper and more profound messages.  For me the landscape is metaphor.  Here it is speaking about the burning life that exists even in the most bleak and desolate situations.  It is always there....always deep inside.

I was so blessed to know John O'Donohue briefly before his untimely death in 2008.  He inspired so much of my thinking in regards to the landscape and the messages we can extrapolate from the rocks and water and trees that surround us.  His words guide my camera everyday and for that brief friendship I am truly grateful.

The outer landscape becomes a metaphor for the unknown inner landscape.

John O'Donohue

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.