Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

The Kilberry Inn

I've driven past this lovely building a few times and been impressed with it's naive beauty.  Then a week ago I took the plunge and decided it'd look good on Port Appin - and it will be renamed The Appin Inn.  The real Kilberry Inn is near Tarbert and I hope one day to stay there later in the year.  http://www.kilberryinn.com


Progress has been slow because it's quite an intricate construction and all the detail has to be worked out making sure I don't put parts of frame where there should be windows (I did) and finding suitable corrugated plastic to represent corrugated roofing.  To fit the Port Appin location I've modelled the front elevation but missed off the outbuildings and 'teefall' roof.   The telephone box is an old one rebuilt, but I'll replace it with a new one eventually.  The post box is scratch built.  I took the photo outside because sometimes daylight provides a much better effect that tungsten.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.