Traffic Jam

First of all thank you all so much for your kind comments, stars and hearts it got me as high as page 5 on the Popular pages, dizzy heights indeed.

Anyway down with a crunch today. It was meant to be a routine visit to my Mum in Suffolk. Got there no problem and spent some time with her and did some shopping etc. around 4 pm I set off home with the SATNAV saying I would be home by 6.40 pm. Well traffic was building a little around the join between the A14 and M11 where there is road works. I got through with minimal delay and was nearing the A1 after around 50 minutes driving. Suddenly I realised I had left my phone at Mum's flat.

With no option, I had to come off and do the return journey to Bury. As I passed the difficult junction a major accident was just in progress with ambulances etc gathering. I got back to Mum's picked up my phone and started again. As predicted there was near standstill traffic because of the accident. This is my emergency blip. As I was at a standstill I took this on my iPad.

I just got home so total journey turned into 5 hours and 15 minutes when the return is usually 2 and a half. But the good news is I finished audio-reading one book Case Histories by Kate Atkinson and am well into another one Deaf Sentence by David Lodge so I see the journey as a receptacle for my literary pursuits. Good job I rested up for two days!

Tired now, off to bed and in London tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.