Today's Special

By Connections

Two Owls, Five Stones, Two Scoops

We headed south a few miles today to do some wood-related errands for Phil and to see the current exhibit at Smith & Vallee Gallery in Edison, a tiny town boasting 133 residents in the 2010 U.S. census.

Edison is rich in artists and good food, despite its small size, and is home to Smith & Vallee Woodworks, a mecca for those who love finely-crafted furniture and cabinets made from sustainably harvested woods. Phil had a fine time choosing some small pieces of lovely wood there for one of his current projects.

This beguiling felt barn owl and leggy heron were made by Phoebe Wahl, who also had several folk art illustrations that I loved in the exhibit -- do take a look at her wonderful art on her website. I'm delighted to discover this Bellingham artist! Her whimsical owl is such a contrast to this fierce one by Pieter VanZanden, made of welded nails and wood.

I also fell in love with this quintet of wrapped and sandblasted stones by Lucy Mae Martin. I would have been hard-pressed to choose just one, and couldn't afford all five, but I'm glad that I have this photo to remember them by.

We had a late lunch at The Rhody Cafe, which far exceeded our expectations and to which we will return soon! Phil had a local, grass-fed beef burger on a homemade bun, with salad, and I had panfried oysters with roast potatoes and salad. We hadn't planned to have dessert, but when I asked what flavors of homemade ice cream were available, and heard "sea salt caramel," how could I resist? I thought we'd share one scoop, but Phil ordered two, and what you see here was indeed completely consumed. 

I'd better take a long walk tomorrow!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.