Louwestphoto

By Louwestphoto

Family Treesearch

I've been to the archives in Wakefield today to read the records of my great great great great grandfather, Enoch, when he was a patient in the Stanley Royd Pauper Lunatic Asylum, where he spent the last year of his life. Based on what I already knew, I thought it was going to be quite sad. As it was, it wasn't sad really. His records note that he had a good humour and a big appetite. He also had major delusions of grandeur - he believed himself to be god-like, that he could raise people from the dead, and that he was rich and would share his money between his children, the patients on the ward and the doctor. 

I had arranged to meet my grandma's cousin and her husband there for the first time too, so it was nice to hear about that side of the family, who I don't know. 

After we searched the records, we went to the mental health museum to find out more about the conditions Enoch would have lived in and then to the actual old asylum, which is now luxury apartments.

So all in all, an interesting day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.