Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

A bit of rough...

We had some very welcome rain this morning - much needed and should help settle in my new plantings. By the afternoon the rain had been replaced by largely blue skies and a very strong wind. After spending most of the day at the computer, I headed out to stretch my legs along the river. 

I spotted the kingfisher catching fish, but it was far too distant for a decent image. the Rowing Lake. Further on I spotted a huge kerfuffle on the water - three mallard drakes were trying to mate with a single female. I feared for her life as they were all on top of her and she looked as though she was drowning. Eventually she broke free, and was closely followed by her mate, who then took sole possession of her, grasping her by the back of the head. 

I was relieved when she finally broke free and flew off, though she was closely followed by her mate and another suitor. Spring's quite a violent time among waterfowl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.