My Long Term Memory

By marinakari

Looking for birds

After work I went to this small island next to Hamina centre. Its easy to access from mainland as there is only short duckboard path over wetland.
From the tip of the island opens wonderful view to relatively shallow bay where hundreds of migrate birds gather together for food and rest on their way to their northern homes. 
Today I counted about 50 - 60 swans, two separated flocks of coots, several goose couples and lots of ducks and gulls. Spectacular! 
The birds are extremely cautious after their long journey and won't let easily anyone approach, at least I couldn't get decent shot with my 300mm I had with me. That didn't bother me at all, I was happy just to follow their territorial behavior and attempts to find mate in that small area.


The sunset was beautiful but quite chilly today. Lots of lines around sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.