Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Out to Lunch

Free food. That's what it says on the wall. And who wouldn't want to check that offer out?!

I snapped this dapper gentleman just after I'd been to see an exhibition of Francesco Mellina's punk era photographs at LJMU's John Lennon Art and Design Building today.

Since blipping Mr Mellina  back in December I've spotted him regularly around town but hadn't been aware that he's got a show on this week until I was tipped off by erstwhile blipper, DebsP. (Thanks Debs!) It was particularly great to see his prints of my adolescent heroes The Clash amongst the collection on display.

Still on a musical theme, I've just finished reading 'Girl in a Band', Kim Gordon's memoir of her life, music and art before, during and since her 3 decades as a member of Sonic Youth. I found it a right riveting read and a really interesting companion piece to Viv Albertine's brilliant recent book,  'Clothes, Music, Boys', about her life - both creative and personal - before, during and after her time in The Slits. I blipped Ms Albertine last June!

Anyway... The Kim Gordon book has given me a great excuse to link to this song, written by her and sung as a duet with that other great post-punk, bass playing, Kim - Kim Deal of Pixies and Breeders fame. It's a corker! And the video's great too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.