Beach Party Dinner at Hope Lodge

On most nights a local group of people bring dinner to the guests of the Hope Lodge. The lively group of volunteers on this night decorated and prepared food on a beach party picnic theme. As you can imagine after a hard day (very hard for many) of tests, being poked and prodded, exams, hearing difficult news, and so forth, being served a delicious meal really lifts the spirits.
The dining room is filled with round tables and guests enjoy sharing  theirs lives and experiences while eating.
Since my friend and I had walked to China town for a lovely lunch after my appointment I did not feel so very hungry but the baked chicken and lasagna were too wonderful to resist. 
This one cook wore her hula skirt and did a little dance with the party organizer. Everyone-- volunteers and guests has a rowdy good time.
I was in especially high spirits because the death of the cancer tumor was confirmed. I can return in a couple of years just to follow it. 
Then we packed up to be ready to leave in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.