Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

It's Fledge Day!

Here's #1 Son - I named him Waldo. I had a good peek at him earlier and then was watching as he took his first steps out of the nest! He sat there awhile, looking around, (caution: anthropomorphizing ahead) looking amazed. Then he jumped to a couple of different branches, then tried his wings, awkwardly but successfully. Mom came around a couple of times and fed him - he's still pretty mouthy! He's nearly the same size as she is.

He flew to different branches on the clematis vine. Then he found himself on a wire underneath the eaves. He seemed stuck and a little scared for awhile, but he finally got himself back to the vines. Soundtrack

I clicked off a couple hundred photos during this twenty minutes or so. I put the best of them in a Google album.

It's amazing how excited I feel! I told Laurie I feel a bit like a midwife! Or at least an auntie. Now I'll have to try for a shot of the siblings together.

Edit: here's a link to a video, which is mostly just for the audio of the nestlings. And you need to turn the volume way up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.