Roaming Free

A meeting in Kirkby Lonsdale today gave me another opportunity to venture round the far side of the Howgills. Today's Blip was taken just a few miles from yesterday's.
Initially I'd thought to take a Blip of Wild Boar Fell (which I have - the fourth highest summit in the Dales is the sharp nosed ridge in the distance) - but as I tried to find a position to also capture Heckgill Tarn I saw the Fell Ponies & had to get them in shot too.

Wild Boar Fell is named after the beasts that roamed it 500 hundred years ago - the last one was supposedly shot in the 1800's. The Ponies have faired better - used for agriculture and commerce since the first settlers they now mostly roam free - most of the farms I know will put food out for them when times are harsh - but they are now to all intents and purposes wild - although I'd be amazed if there wasn't some sort of trade in them given all the horse fairs & shows that happen in the county. They're not something I've encountered anywhere else - but if you're out for the day in the Howgills then chances are you'll see them on the high fells.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.