IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Lisa Diane

Another glorious bright spring day. I had to go to Cromer to post a parcel and go to the bank.  The first hardy visitors were out and about, meeting for coffee in the cafes and strolling along the promenade. The locals are preparing for the summer season; windowsills and doors are being sanded down and fresh paint applied, fishermen are mending nets. One hardy soul in a wet suit was out in the breakers with his surf board.
I went a wander on the beach and enjoyed looking at the vintage tractors, still wrapped up in their oilskin waistcoats to protect them against the winter storms. I like the old tractors, the smell of diesel and the fascinating mechanical gubbins (technical term) of their engines. When I was a child, my uncle had an old Massey Ferguson very similar to some of the old workhorses. I always loved the name for some curious reason. 
There is a tradition of giving the boats feminine names; presumably in most cases the wives and loved ones of the fishermen.The boat in the foreground is the Lisa Diane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.