Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Powercut

Was on the train this morning going up to Haarlem when a powercut stopped it from rolling on.... luckily it had just made a stop at a railway station and we could leave it from there. No way to check out with our digital tickets, so all passengers need to reclaim their fares from dutch NS by sending in an e-mail.

The station was just a few miles away from my destination so I walked up to Overveen where I was to meet other walkers as we'd planned a day of walks. I then could phone the 'leader' of the day to inform him of my troubles in travels, soon afterwards not even the mobile phone worked anymore and walking up to our meeting point I noticed traffic lights did not work anymore and then  shopkeepers stood in their doors and their shops were dark and closed... no cashpoint in power. OH dear a large powercut and not just the railways!

The powercut lasted almost 4 hours and round Haarlem even longer. It covered a large area in the north west of Holland and ofcourse no elevator worked there, nor computers, no light no nothing; not only dutch railways was troubled, the national airport as well.

None of the other walkers had managed to reach our meeting point and after an hour of waiting for them I walked back into Haarlem and went up to a friend there and then home again. Still no trains then as you can see here from my blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.