bluesheep

By bluesheep

gutting a beachside hotel

Every day I run past this construction site where they have recently been gutting a hotel to remodel. I always peek through the fence and get a glimpse of this great scene looking through the torn up foyer into the hotels courtyrad/pool area. It's always fenced off, and mean looking construction workers are looming everywhere during the morning as I pass. I've come by at night, but the fence is locked closed, and the light is very poor.

Today after my run I'd had enough of the looking-but-never-capturing thing. I grabbed my camera, reached over the fense and snapped a few quick shots before getting a "hey!" (as in what are you doing here?) from one of the workers. I had no time to fiddle much with framing, exposure or focus, all of which could have made this shot even better. I wish I had time in there with a tripod and no one around to intimidate me.

It was a tricky exposure, and a bit hard to see how cool the light was. I just loved all the angles, exposed building structure, random crap laying around, and the light-dark-light of the fore-, middle- and background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.