Golden crane-fly

Really struggling to keep up at the moment, hence this is a back-blip, almost 24 hours late. I also regret that I'm hardly doing any commenting, or even having time to look at your journals. It may have been a mistake doing my Desert Island Discs at this particular time, as I've been unable to respond to the many interesting comments on my choices, but I have enjoyed reading them all. I've also decided to defer my choice of book and luxury item for a few days, as I just can't give them the attention they deserve. But as this is probably one of the busiest fortnights of the field season, I hope you'll forgive me.

Today was a day of re-grouping which meant a trip to Sainsbury's; washing; lawn mowing; identifying specimens and catching up with paperwork. The weather was scorching, so I was glad not to be out in the field, but it was ideal for a relaxing evening barbecue. I took the dogs out at dusk, when it was beginning to cool down and spotted this backlit crane-fly as we were walking along the bridleway to Castor Hanglands. The reserve was quite superb - lots of early marsh orchids coming into flower, and several nightingales singing, though not particularly strongly.

As I drove back through Castor village I marvelled at the quantity of bunting and flags put out for the Jubilee. They're obviously going to be celebrating in a big way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.