Janetsch0

By Janetsch0

Car Share - Peter Kay

A few weeks ago I spotted a Facebook post from Peter Kay, saying that he'd be premiering his new TV show Car Share in Blackpool to raise funds for a kids hospice. I missed getting tickets but then happened to be online whe he announced a second show, a day earlier, which would actually be the 'real' premier, I.e. first showing, and I managed to get tickets. I kind of thought (without much actual thinking) it would be a stage version of the show then realised I'd bought tickets to a screening of a six part series. Mmm. Then I heard that Peter would be attending. Then I got an email saying he wouldn't be there until later due to scheduling issues. But what the hell, we'd have fish and chips in Blackpool and toddle off to the Opera house and see what happened. Due to traffic on the M6 we abandoned plans for fish and chips and instead parked up and went to the Albert and the Lion bar, Wetherspoons pub below the Tower, and had a cheap (but not gourmet) meal and drink, before walking up to the Winter Gardens and finding the entrance to the Opera house. The Winter gardens is an amazing place and I took advantage of the visit to snap a few pics of places that will feature in the NAFAS show competitive classes, which is being held there in November. We found our seats (not helped by the frankly weird numbering system of odd numbered seats in one half of the auditorium and even numbers seats in the other half) and settled down to watch the show. First two episodes, then an interval, then two more episodes and another interval. Then Peter appeared on stage and chatted for 15 minutes before episodes 5 and 6 were shown. For obvious reasons we were asked not to share details, but I can say that the show is wonderful - very funny, but also poignant and touching. Suffice to say that as the credits for episode one rolled (and for each subsequent episode) there was hearty applause, very unusual at a screening in Britain! I feel very privileged to have been there and thoroughly recommend watching the series when it airs on the BBC in a month or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.