Plus ça change...

By SooB

Awe inspiring

Such was TallGirl's response on seeing the cheese (top right) that followed me home from the market. A cheese put to one side by our favourite supplier four years ago "to see what would happen".  Well, this happened, and it is good.  TallGirl is not entirely convinced that 'sand' should fall out of cheese, but she couldn't argue with the flavour.

The other items are probably the best baguette in France, and some fresh sheep's cheese from our favourite supplier, doused in basil oil and basil.  A perfect lunch.

Before all this, a remarkably early Saturday start for me: with cookies baked, the house tidied and a shower had all before 9.  At which point I headed out to school to do the garden while the 'Open Day' was going on.  Sadly (in both senses) there was a funeral going on in the village too, so nowhere to park, but we did have some parents come in and I like to think that them seeing a committed (or should be committed...) parent gardening in the rain convinced them that this was the school for them!

With the lettuces planted and everything tidied up, off to the market for bread for Mr B (driving down France from Chartres), cheese for all and beetroot mainly for me.  Then one of the impromptu parties that spring up around here, with 'gouter' for everyone in the courtyard once our three sets of neighbours had finished moving back in.  Mr B arrived back during the party, in our latest new-to-us car (which caused quite a stir).

Later, after very slow roast lamb (I forgot to put the potatoes on as Mr B was telling me about all the irons he now has in various fires, so dinner was late even though I started cooking it at 6 pm yesterday) we entertained the kids by watching a Top of the Pops compilation from the 80s.  I like to think they enjoyed seeing the fashion choices of the day, but I think horror is probably the word I'm looking for.

And now, rather content at seeing lights on all around our courtyard again after a year of losing half our neighbours, I must finally concede that I have succumbed to the family cold and will be a very poorly SooB tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.