*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

87/365: Why is a raven like a writing desk?

This is the end of the Ripon White Rabbit Trail, found in the Cathedral. Had a lovely day but am late blipping it as I felt shattered and not right cracking last night.

Went on a Lewis Carroll quest with my friend Norm to Ripon (calling for breakfast and a look around the church in Ripley en route), we do these sort of quests a lot! I have another 2 (at least) lined up for later in the year. Poor Norm... hehe.

Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (ever wonder why he had such a strange middle name? It was his mother's maiden name) was 20 when his father became canon of Ripon Cathedral which meant he had to live in Ripon for several weeks each year. As with anywhere that Dodgson/Carroll set foot, Ripon claims a lot of the inspiration for his books came from the town and especially the cathedral.

It really is a beautiful building, even if Lewis Carroll means nothing to you. I could explore the choir area and gaze at the fabulous creatures carved on the misericord seats all day. One of the carvings is particularly famous - it depicts a griffin chasing 2 rabbits, one of which is disappearing down a hole. Many believe this to have been one of the inspirations for the famous opening of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. I helped 2 people to locate it because they seemed to be struggling and I remembered my frustration the first time I searched for it!

Called for a welcome drink in Appletreewick on the way home and had a good look at my cathedral Alice-related purchases over my pint.

All-in-all an excellent day which the weather tried, and failed, to spoil :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.