tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Oxford pink

I'm in my old home town for the weekend before returning to Wales. It's always very floral at this time of year.
I had another meet-up with Arachne and visited some older friends too.
A few have had brushes with serious illness, those intimations of mortality that stalk us all as we get older. One I met quite by chance as I walking by the river. We'd lost touch and I hadn't seen her for 10 years but as we passed each other we both glanced back in an instant of surprised recognition. Despite her recent bout of ill-health she looked... in the pink. 
All the more so because her daughter, who was with her, had just found out she was pregnant and both were rejoicing at the prospect of a first (grand)child.

I was left feeling this was a good note on which to move on from the aftermath of The Old Man's death.

I hope to have time soon to get back to following the journals of all you kind people who have left such caring and  thoughtful comments over the past month when I've had so little opportunity to respond. It really has helped to know that so many people have engaged with the images and words I've shared of what is of course a universal experience  but  one which tends to be invisible in our society. 
Hitherto, many of us have felt, perhaps naively,  that Blipfoto has been a 'safe' place to share our personal life events. Let's hope that the recent changes will not compromise our trust. There is still much that remains obscure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.