Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Dr Syn @ Dungeness

A group of graduates of the John Gravett LPH experience met at Dungeness today for a very windy meet-up.  A few of us got down to the sea: paddling was not an option, and those of us using tripods had to hang on tight!

The RH&DR (Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway) Station Cafe proved quite popular - as was the hourly visits of the trains.  This was one of my last photos of the day, featuring Dr Syn, named for the fictional Vicar of Dymchurch, aka The Scarecrow, created by the author Russell Thornedyke.  I remember devouring his books as a teenager, about the pirate who "retired" to Dymchurch and continued smuggling.

 Oops - reviewing this, and before the railway spotters have me up before the judge, I see this is the Southern Maid, not Dr Syn. Clearly I need to get a new anorak!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.