Like Before

Used to go and watch these guys all the time when they played in Bradford

Irish band called FOS Brothers , they lived in Yorkshire for years and I have many many memories of seeing them in dirty , smelly , sticky indie pubs . Perfect

Last time I saw them was 8 years ago as they have now moved down South , but they were up in Leeds for a gig .

The room seemed to be full of all the same people from the 90s. Infact Sam , right , opened the gig with the line " So it's good to see I am not the only one fatter and older then "

Gorgeous music , gorgeous voices .


Slightly less gorgeous dancing . They were serving wine by the half pint so that probably explains my ability in that area . Of course in my head I had won trophies at dancing I was * that * good .

I didn't know any of the audience but we all danced together knowing we probably had danced together on sticky pub floors in the 90s . (although I am not sure what message I was giving with my dancing, but I did manage to pull a 63 year old woman who looked like Jodie Foster who told me I was denying my true feelings . WTF ! )

I think the most memorable (although memorable may well be a relative term) line was a woman in the audience saying " Steady on with the dancing , I had bladder surgery four weeks ago " .  Right there , that's when you know you and your contemporaries are not in your twenties anymore ....

Top top night . " Like Before " was the song that took us all back . Very nostalgic .

Here's your song

Despite the bladder ops and the 63 year old advances , in amongst all that ,there was a lost youth, temporarily found

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.