crome171

By crome171

Requiem

Being self-employed has it's advantages as I can simply take time off to do things that are important to me. Today that meant I could spend much of the afternoon attending a funeral in York Minster for a former Archdeacon of York, the Venerable Leslie Stanbridge. It wasn't appropriate to have my camera at the service, so today's blip was taken this morning in my front room of the invitation to the Requiem Mass. As Leslie requested, it wasn't an event dominated by a eulogy but a celebration of a life very well spent with joyful hymns, anecdotes, prayers in the Quire of the Minster he was a Canon of. I had the pleasure to work closely with Leslie over many years on the York Christian Aid Committee which led to the collaboration on walking guides for the 5 Churches Trail (around the Lastingham group of churches) and the Whitby Way, a 66 mile pilgrimage walk from Whitby Abbey to York Minster - a book I had the privilege to illustrate, provide the photography for, design and produce. I subsequently walked the route in one go over two days along with good friend Steve Benford. The Ven Leslie Stanbridge - a character, friend and inspiration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.