don376

By don376

Mad Men - Second time around!

Just about to sit down to my favourite series of the moment (second viewing) - Mad Men. Who hasn't watched Mad Men? Then you are missing a treat - fantastic, realistic characters in a series that brings the mid 60's to mid 70's back to life for old guys like me! It really was like that folks.... smoking and drinking in the office and also when out with clients.... Highly masculine world (sorry girls) with lots of overt sexism. I'm not saying that today isn't much, much better and we are certainly getting rid of many of the old taboos but boy the 60's and 70's were so glamorous in the Western World (and I was young!). We really did believe great things were going to happen and looking back I guess they did....

Ps - Mad Men stands for Madison Avenue Advertising Men (a phrase I believe they invented...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.