Meanderings Through Life

By sparrowbirdy

Castle Market

Today I was out long enough to go fruit shopping. We can't live without it in this house!
Luckily I live within walking distance of Sheffield's Castle Market. No matter how obscure the fruit or vegetable, someone in here will have it. And if they haven't, they'll get it.
One of my favourite stalls is the egg stall on the right, where I buy my duck eggs. They do quail eggs, and occasionally goose eggs. Even the odd ostrich egg (life's too short to cook one of those!)

I'll be sad when this place is gone. It's been suffering the ravages of time for many years. Rather than renovate the place, the city is building another indoor market at the other end of the city centre. Stalls half the size and higher rents. It's never going to be the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.