Spring medley from the woods

Another rather bitty day. I arranged a field visit to Dorset on Wednesday - travelling by train fortunately - but still a very long day. The rest of the day seemed to be occupied by seeing Chris and Lizzy off on their holiday to Portugal, popping into town for a very brief bit of shopping and clearing vegetation from a fence line, in readiness for erecting a new fence. 

I did manage to sneak in a morning walk round our local woods. I was surprised at how things had moved on since I last visited just over a week ago. The wood anemones seem to have popped out of nowhere, and are going to be splendid in another few days. Both sweet and early wood-violets are flowering, along with the primroses and celandines, and I even saw my first few bluebells out! The leaves of the Midland hawthorn are fully emerged, though still so soft and tender, and the buds are visible. I couldn't choose tonight so have brought you a woodland medley!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.