Duane Eddy in Concert.

Duane Eddy is my big hero. I've been a fan of his since I first heard Rebel Rouser in 1958. I've been lucky in as much as his career has been sustained ever since, meaning that I've been able to see him in concert regularly and he has issued records and albums consistently since those early days.

Today was the last date of this tour and V and I saw him at the Warwick Arts Centre where his support was Nell Bryden, a singer-songwriter from New York, who was quite good as a support act. Duane was backed by Richard Hawley's band and Richard himself came on stage for a couple of numbers. They share the same management. The repertoire was a mix of Duane's old rock 'n' roll favourites such as Rebel Rouser, Forty Miles of Bad Road, Peter Gunn, Because They're Young, etc. together with most, if not all, of the tracks from his current album, Road Trip. I think it was the best performance I've ever seen from Duane and that's saying something. The audience's age definitely averaged well over 60, probably more, and everyone seemed to enjoy it as much.

Many of us had compact cameras and were trying to take photos (against the wishes of the theatre staff) although the lighting was very low key making it more or less impossible to get a decent shot without flash which I wouldn't try.

Despite that, we all had a delightful evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.