Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

The Wheels of Industry

A busier than usual Monday - spent much longer on the computer than I had anticipated - plus the sound of the strong wind and heavy rain outside, meant that it was early evening before I ventured out in search of a photograph.

There was lots of Easter-related info to post on our church website, plus all sorts of activities to be added to our 'five churches in Cumbernauld' blog, and also various bits of news and information to be added to our Ramblers' group website (from which I was supposed to have resigned before Christmas - but that's another story) and the morning stretched into afternoon almost without notice.

To be fair, the earlier part of the morning was spent putting my weekend's photos online so it wasn't completely "all work and no play".

Nevertheless, it was nearly 6pm before I ventured outside and into the gale and driving rain. I had a couple of things to do in Bonnybridge and Falkirk, so my venture wasn't entirely photo-related. But the conditions were not conducive to seeking out attractive locations for a photo-shoot.

In the end, a trip to the retail park resulted in a picture being taken of this sculpture that stands at the entrance. Not entirely sure what or who it is meant to represent - many retail parks are on the site of former large industrial sites - but my guess is of a railway worker. I think the structure in the background is a train engine and the lines are meant to represent rails. I could be wrong, but there is little online information to give further clues.

Either way, it was blowing a gale and teeming with rain at the time and it was enough to fire off a few shots and make a run for the car before Noah threw me a lifebelt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.