On the wing

Today's the day ............................. to remember a friend

I got news today of the sad but peaceful death of an old friend - known here on blipfoto as Longshanks.

Of course, I say old friend  because I felt as if I had known him all my life, but in actual fact I had only got acquainted with him in 2010 when I started blipping.  Such is the weird and wonderful way that blipfoto works.  I instantly felt we were on the same wavelength and I loved the way he wrote his journal - and his comments on mine.  He made me laugh out loud on a regular basis.

The first time we actually met was on the 3rd September 2011 - a blipmeet set up by Arnside and Beyond.  I remember being rather nervous when the agreed time arrived, wondering how it would all go.  I needn't have worried because we all got on like a house on fire and it was seven hours later that Mr & Mrs Longshanks eventually left.

Those of you that 'knew' him will have also followed the journal of his alter-ego RCB (Red Coated Birder).  RCB posted a blip of a different bird every day for a year because he shared Longshanks' love for and knowledge of birds.  As far as I know, no-one has ever actually met RCB.  He was a shy and retiring type who liked to keep himself to himself.

I once got myself into huge trouble by suggesting to another blipper that the Bonaparte gull  that Longshanks claimed to have seen, was a figment of his very active imagination.  The witty comments that ricocheted across several blip journals from the aggrieved party were hilarious - and still make me laugh today.

Such a lovely, warm, intellectual and inspiring man - I'm so glad that I got to know him for as long as I did ......................  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.