A view through a lych gate

I had to go into Henley-in-Arden today, to the bank, so whilst I was there I took the opportunity of walking up to the church which is in the same road that I'd parked in.
This is the Norman church of St Nicholas, which lies at the foot of a hill called The Mount. There used to be a Norman castle on The Mount also, (Beaudesert Castle) but it's long gone. I remember seeing Anneka Rice's bum running up there (preceded by Anneka of course) years ago, on a "Challenge Anneka" program.  I also seem to recall seeing it on Time Team (The Mount, not Anneka's bum) but I may be wrong. 
The church is said to date back to 1170, (or even 1070 if you read Wikipedia) and some parts may be Saxon.
I stood in the lychgate to take this photo as I thought it made an usual frame. Lychgates can still be found at the entrance to some churches, and their purpose was as a place to rest the bier (corpse) and part of the burial service was performed here by the clergy. 
So I did my banking and headed back to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.