Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Cordiner's Land

A cold and wet bike ride in the morning, it was supposed to be dry. After getting soaked in cold rain, I decide to cut my losses and head home. Mind you, I did cycle home fast, if only to stay warm.

After lunch, I've warmed up and head down to the bike shop to get some bike cleaning fluid (the pink stuff!!!) and handlebar tape for my commute bike.

As the afternoon rain hadn't appeared, there are lovely blue skies, I head down to Tollcross, then to the Grassmarket. At West Port, I notice this plaque on a building across the road.

The emblem is from the Cordiners Guild, most probably from the french for shoemaker, cordonnier.

Back in the 17th century, these buildings were very crowded tenements near the west gate of the old city walls. Over the years, living conditions were improved, giving better ventilation and space, but the buildings did eventually fall in to disrepair.

They were renovated in the 1980s. The three remaining buildings preserve many original features including balcony walkways, open staircases, courtyard gardens, a tower and bridge. You can even stay there, and you get good views of Edinburgh Castle.

I then wandered down to the Grassmarket, which was pretty quiet, then back to Tollcross to get coffee and cake. Fully restored, I head home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.