More Pensioner Reminiscing

Lordy, I slept badly - woke at 6am and couldn't get back to sleep - the perils of the teetotal evening. I won't be making that mistake again anytime soon.

The big news of today dismayed the old chums who are left working for the organisation. All the old places in the centre of town that I used to love (well, their locations) are closing down and the staff will be decanted oot to beyond the ring road. No more strolling round to the Cumberland after work. Or over to the Cask and Barrel or up to the Barony, or across to Clarks. Or down to Smithy's or indeed up to the The Wally Dug. Or even along to the St Vincent or the Baillie.
Now, I don't want to suggest that we just spent all our spare hours in local hostelries, but I think on reflection we were actually much more productive at work. No email, internet or smart phones. Just coding on dumb screens. I could go on. But I'd probably just prefer one for the road. Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.