Spoiling Moose to Death

By Griffey

Happy dog with his own kill

A hunting dog loves birds, duh! But when most people think of hunting dogs, they think of a dog who retrieves a bird shot down by a human.

Moose retreived a bird today, but there were no guns and no humans involved. He took a hunting trip on his own and returned with a birdy surprise.

It was a stormy, windy day and I arrived home to an open gate. The wind blew it open, as it does on occasion, but our happy Moose was relaxing in the yard. He knows where home is. He loves home.  And he knows home is where he belongs. No open gate to the word will steer him away. 

Upon a closer look, I noticed an abundance of feathers resting in the lawn. There was a red mass near my foot and, as I approached Moose, I noticed a half eaten carcass in his mouth and wings resting by his side.

While some dog owners would be horrified and disgusted by this bloody sight, I was ecstatic. Moose reached another level today, one that proves his hunting potential. In response to being so proud, there were only two things to do: first, I crouched down to snap a picture and second, I give Moose a love pat for a job well done.

I hope there are lots of birds for him in heaven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.