tickletoes

By tickletoes

What I had

I loved a man who was gentle, kind and humble.
When he took my hand, I felt on top of the world.  When he smiled at me, my whole self was happy.
The sun is shining on my back yard, and I remember him working out there, or tending to a BBQ, or washing the cars.
I did more than love him, I adored him....every single little bit of him.
When he embraced me, I felt whole.
When he sent me a text, my life seemed so alive.
I fell into a bad place with work.....I struggled so hard to get things back under control, I was away 4 nights a week.  I left this man on his own....and he so obviously needed me to be there with him......to show him every day how much I loved him...how much I appreciated every tiny little thing he did for me.
I lost him...........and didn't feel it happening because I was so stressed.  I started to get ill.  I knew I had to pack my job in, because I felt I was on the cusp of something.
I gave my resignation, and two weeks later I finished up.  
Two weeks after that, this man who had supported me for so many years, told me he had started to fall out of love with me at least six months earlier.  He had lost his love for me.  There was no point in trying to save it.......it was gone.
I crumble every day........and its more than six months since he told me.
My heart is in so much pain........I miss him.  I miss him so much.
I don't know what to say...what to type here.....I feel like I'm sliding away.  That everything that is me, is broken.  I dont even want to pick up the pieces.
My gorgeous man is with someone else now......I backed off......didn't want to keep begging him to reconsider.  If I made him so unhappy, then I needed to let him go.
But I see him everywhere.  I wake to see he is not lying there beside me.  I go to bed without him snuggling into me.  I drive and his leg is not there for me to place my hand under.  I walk, and his hand is not there to take mine.  My life is so empty without him......and I 'feel' that he doesn;t even think of me at all now.  
I wish I could tell him how I am...........that perhaps in some way he could help me move on............but I can't.  I can't have him try to cope with me crying, when he cannot give me what I want.  I wont do that to him.  I need to leave him to be happy.
I just wish I could stop loving him.  But that will never be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.