Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Trans-forming Attitudes

Today is the 6th annual International Transgender Day of Visibility and, as luck would have it, I've been a speaker at the 'Problem Solved?' conference about LGBT Advice Needs, where one of my fellow workshop facilitators was the lovely Lynette.

As well as volunteering at one of our local Citizens Advice Bureaux, Lynette's someone who's very visible on behalf of Liverpool's Trans community every day of the year, not just today, and we often bump into each other at meetings and events. She's someone I admire enormously and she was kind enough to let me take her picture to mark today's Day of Visibility.

I think she's got the look of a member of the French Resistance about her today and in many ways she really IS a member of the Resistance, standing up against stigma, fear and hate crime and challenging attitudes on a daily basis. Lynette, you're a star!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.