Windflower

I had a lovely gentle walk round the Old Sulehay nature reserve this morning. Mind you, driving there was interesting. As I headed out on the A47 I noticed that my view of the road in the wing mirror was undulating rather peculiarly. I realised that this was caused by a loose mirror, so tried to push it back in place, which resulted in it coming off completely and flying across both lanes of the dual carriageway! 

I continued my journey and enjoyed a couple of hours wandering among the wood anemones and violets in glorious sunshine, though still with a very chilly northerly wind. The flowers are quite slow to bloom this year - the lesser celandines weren't flowering at all and the wood sorrel's buds were still tightly closed. Lots of bird song though, and good sightings of two marsh tits.

Much of the afternoon was spent trying to replace the wing mirror. They were out of stock at my nearest garage, which meant driving round the busy parkways to find an alternative. I hadn't realised how much I rely on that mirror, more than the rear-view mirror - filtering onto busy dual carriageways was more than a little nerve-wracking. However, now it's been replaced, so I'll be able to drive safely again in time for the Easter weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.