Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Every Day Is A Saturday

One of the messages I've received on Facebook in recent days came from an ex-BBC friend who has already retired some years ago.  He said "every day is a Saturday from now on".  How very true, in more ways than one.  Mum isn't used to me being around on a weekday, and we both keep thinking it's Saturday all the time.  It's also pretty weird seeing Broadcasting House in the background live on The One Show, or the newsroom behind the 6 o'clock news studio, knowing that my former colleagues are busy working inside.  I think it's going to take a while to adjust to being a lady of leisure and not a BBC employee.

Mum has improved a bit more today after being so very ill over the last week, and her appetite has continued to increase slowly.  We each overslept this morning, which is unlike both of us.  It's been a "bits and pieces" day getting, well, bits and pieces done that I've been unable to find the time for while working flat out.  As Mum is still too weak to go out, I took a walk around Tiptree this afternoon to post some letters and buy some more stamps (yes, I'm really living it up as a pensioner), and dropped in on the local ducks.  They're going to be pretty busy soon and, after taking it really easy over this Easter week, I intend to be too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.