My favourite months!

Yay!! Today marks the beginning of my favourite 4 month block of the year! April - July are the four best months for  invertebrates and hopefully if the weather bothers to warm up a bit there will be lots to see! 
That said, it was sunny today with a really chilly wind and deeply frustrated I had to settle with a quick look round my garden at lunchtime and a wander round the local cemetery later.
Of the shots I took this was probably one of my favourites (although one of the shots taken in the cemetery would be brilliant for Good Friday so I shall have to pay another visit).
This is a common, but none the less beautiful 7 spot ladybird Coccinella septempunctata , a large native species easily recognised and not to be confused with the migrant Harlequin ladybirds.
I snapped him on my Grape hyacinth, another welcome harbinger of springtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.