Consider the Lilies

By skambalu

#Lent with @CAFOD: Prayer for peace

http://www.cafod.org.uk/Pray/Lent-Calendar-2015/28-March

“I will turn their mourning into joy. I will console them, give gladness for grief.” (Jeremiah 31:10-13 r.10)

Today's reflection shared the way that some of CAFOD's partners use puppets when working with children who have faced difficult situations, to start the healing process.

So, I wanted to take a photo of a puppet. As I was looking for presents for babies, I thought I might find one, that I could buy as well as photograph. But that didn't happen.

Anyway, it was Earth Hour at 8:30pm, so I lit my candle, and took a photo. Then I made shadow puppets, and tried to photograph those. But they are too dark!

But just now, as I uploaded my candle anyway, I notice again that the action was to write a prayer for peace. And this is my peace candle! (Hence the dove... the prayer on the back is the prayer of St Francis, make me an instrument of your peace.) And during Earth Hour I remembered the one in five people who don't have access to electricity... and I used no electricity in order to give our earth some peace. So it's an appropriate photo in a way after all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.