The Last Derelict...

...for a while (October, in fact)

As I'm sure you'll be aware by now, the Derelict Thursday Challenge, which, when I conceived the very idea in the first place, was only ever destined to be run through the winter months, will end its first current run this week.

And what a first current run it has been! It's always been amply supported, though not by Blip Central, which I found to be both upsetting and rude, as they deemed the subject too 'downbeat'.

Anyway, with the splendid help from both Freespiral and Himself, it has carried on with a solid 80-90 entries each week. Mostly because I was forced off-line by Virgin Media, this is actually my first entry for a while.

I always used to notice spits and spots of dereliction. The bits that would soon be derelict and those parts deemed to be too much of an eyesore for affluent voters, cleared away. Otherwise, nature just carries on, the wind and rain, oxidising and rotting, blowing things away and vegetation, regaining a stranglehold on what was, of course, its own territory. And the animals and butterflies and other flora and fauna that takes over. It is no surprise that unkempt railways sidings make up a huge proportion of Britain's natural habitat and look out of any train window and most of it is lined with, well, rubbish!

Now, my derelict radar is sharp and acute and zones-in. But as the summer beckons, we should look for more beautiful things. And for the hosts, not to sit in front of PC screens looking through all the entries. And I am not prepared to run a watered down, part-time challenge, in the interim, either.

So, through the Spring and Summer, do as I did with this scene. I saw it months ago and mentally added it to my list. I've been wanting to go back and that I did.

It did require some quiet nerve. A terrace of houses in the small hours just to the left. Mere inches behind me, a parked car, with its alarm blinking red at me, reminding me that if I stepped back one step, the whole street would know about it and I would be in respiratory meltdown. As you can see, even with the full-frame fisheye, I am only just getting all I want in...

But I'm pleased I caught this at night, with Salisbury's OTHER landmark (aside the Cathedral, of course), the gasometer. I have Blipped this in nightscapes on a few occasions but not from here and so near to houses. It had to appear somewhat surreal along with the boarded-up house with its white brightness (sickenly yellow-orange from streetlights in the original colour), I wanted a black sky. During the day, that would have been possible with a deep blue sky, but nothing like that is forecasted here for a while.

I added a few stars, just for good measure. I would have added an alley cat, had there been one.

I'm sure that within a few years time, this land will be developed. No-one will, or should, regret that, but it is rewarding and quite nice to get a slightly different and slightly interesting photo of it - and share it round the world. That is what's great too about Blipfoto. but most of all, to Blippers, who make the site.

Thanks again to freespiral, who once again, is your host this week and thanks again to everybody who picked up on my idea and ran with it. A nice niche we have carved out; many have heard of the group, even if they do not participate. I look forward to you all participating again in October and to host once again! Meanwhile, enjoy your summer!  

Tim

Lens is Nikkor D 16mm f2.8 fisheye

Thanks to all for your everything on yesterday's jet-trail bursting sunrise!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.