Knottman2

By Knottman2

My secret ladyfriend.

Here I am 80 next month and I admit to having a secret ladyfriend. My gardener very rudely calls her a bit on the side.

Don't get the wrong idea. She is a very platonic girl friend. After all I have loved Mrs. K. for 55 years and I would not want to upset her. But she leads a very busy life. Conservation work in the National Nature Reserve, Woodbank work, Community Interest Company, treasurer to a Trust and publishing Wild life Guides.

So since I had my miracle cure eight years ago and could walk again I go out every day after breakfast for 3 to 5 miles. Wet or fine.

This secret girlfriend has come with me every step of the way. About 10,000 miles by now. I am allowed a few fantasies at my age. Although it may not be very politically correct I think of her with a Harvard accent, attractive, blonde and bronzed with Timberlake boots and shorts. She must have suffered in the recent weather.

Her conversation is a bit limited though. She says things like "Four miles completed, 72 minutes, average pace 18 minutes per mile" Or " Congratulations, you have reached your goal".

I am looking forward to the App update where she will say "Five miles completed. How about lunch in that little Italian place.

If I have raised a smile it will have made my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.