I was so much older then ...

... I am younger than that now.
This not very inspiring picture is of an amazing phenomena ... the bit covered in green seaweed is the stump of a yew tree that died 4300 years ago and probably lived for about 500 years before it was killed as salt water encroached turning a wooded area into Daymer Bay beach on the Camel Estuary.  It survived in situ, only appearing after the storms the winter of 2013/14 – there are a number of oak and yew tree stumps that now sometimes appear at low tide.
I went to a talk about it the other night and went to investigate for myself today – I was so excited to find one.  It was thought that now they have been exposed, they might not last for much longer as they are regularly exposed to the sea and the air – BUT – the sand has shifted again and most have been covered up ... so who knows when or if we will see them again.
It’s not prettiest or the most technically proficient picture I’ve ever taken – but it is possibly one of the most significant.
 
I then walked on to St Enodoc Church and fell in!  I didn’t notice that there are 2 steps down, just inside the door and did a bit of a crash down.  Nothing serious – but now I’ve stiffened up my back’s not feeling too good.  I think alcohol is the only answer...
 

Bob Dylan (who’s appearing in my titles a lot at the moment and I’m not sure why)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.